Election of LGFA Board Members

Strategic Alignment - Our Corporation

Tuesday, 24 September 2024 Council

Program Contact:

Anthony Spartalis Chief Operating Officer

Approving Officer:

Anthony Spartalis Chief Operating Officer

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Davin Lambert, Chief Executive Officer of the Local Government Finance Authority of South Australia (LGFA) has written to the Chief Executive Officer advising of nominations received for two positions as Representative Members on the LGFA Board of Trustees and requesting that Council casts its vote.

Nominees are:

Public

- Michael Phillips-Ryder (Councillor, Light Regional Council)
- Jonathan Pietzsch (Councillor, Coorong District Council)
- Grant Piggott (Councillor, City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters)
- Michael Sedgman (Chief Executive Officer, City of Adelaide)
- John Smedley (Councillor, City of Holdfast Bay).

Council at its meeting on 13 August 2024 endorsed the nomination of its Chief Executive Officer, Michael Sedgman, to the LGFA as a Board Member.

The completed ballot form must be received by the LGFA by 5:00pm on Friday 11 October 2024.

RECOMMENDATION

THAT COUNCIL

- 1. Notes the report.
- 2. Resolves to cast one of its votes for the Chief Executive Officer, Michael Sedgman (Council's nominee).
- 3. Casts a second vote for one further Board Member from the following nominees:
 - 3.1 Michael Phillips-Ryder (Councillor, Light Regional Council)
 - 3.2 Jonathan Pietzsch (Councillor, Coorong District Council)
 - Grant Piggott (Councillor, City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters) 3.3
 - John Smedley (Councillor, City of Holdfast Bay). 3.4
- 4. Approves that the ballot paper be marked in accordance with Council's resolution to vote for up to two representative positions on the Local Government Finance Authority Board.

IMPLICATIONS AND FINANCIALS

City of Adelaide 2024-2028 Strategic Plan	Strategic Alignment – Our Corporation
Policy	Not as a result of this report
Consultation	In preparation for voting, Council Members have been advised of the election and provided with candidate information.
Resource	Not as a result of this report
Risk / Legal / Legislative	Not as a result of this report
Opportunities	Participation in the election of LGFA Board Members provides an opportunity for Council to contribute to decision making on matters relevant to the Local Government sector.
24/25 Budget Allocation	Not as a result of this report
Proposed 25/26 Budget Allocation	Not as a result of this report
Life of Project, Service, Initiative or (Expectancy of) Asset	Not as a result of this report
24/25 Budget Reconsideration (if applicable)	Not as a result of this report
Ongoing Costs (eg maintenance cost)	Not as a result of this report
Other Funding Sources	Not as a result of this report

DISCUSSION

Council at its meeting on 13 August 2024 resolved:

"That Council:

- 1. Notes the call for nominations for the Local Government Finance Authority of South Australia Board.
- 2. Endorses the nomination of its Chief Executive Officer, Michael Sedgman, to the Local Government Finance Authority of South Australia as a Board Member."
- 2. Davin Lambert, Chief Executive Officer of the Local Government Finance Authority of South Australia (LGFA) has advised that nominations have been received from the following candidates for two representative Board Member positions on the LGFA Board of Trustees:
 - 2.1 Michael Phillips-Ryder (Councillor, Light Regional Council)
 - 2.2 Jonathan Pietzsch (Councillor, Coorong District Council)
 - 2.3 Grant Piggott (Councillor, City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters)
 - 2.4 Michael Sedgman (Chief Executive Officer, City of Adelaide)

DATA AND SUPPORTING INFORMATION

- 2.5 John Smedley (Councillor, City of Holdfast Bay).
- 3. A copy of each of the candidates' profiles can be viewed at Link 1.
- 4. It is suggested that Council cast one of its votes for Michael Sedgman (Council's nominee).
- 5. Casting of the vote by Council must be conducted as follows:
 - 5.1 Council must by resolution determine which candidates (being not more than two) they wish to elect.
 - 5.2 The Lord Mayor (or the person chairing the Council meeting) shall mark the ballot paper in their own handwriting with an "x" next to the candidate/s that Council wishes to be elected.
 - 5.3 The marked ballot paper must then be inserted into the small white envelope labelled "Confidential Ballot Paper". The sealed envelope must then be placed in the middle-sized envelope addressed to the Returning Officer. Council's name must be recorded on the envelope along with the signature of the Lord Mayor (or person chairing the Council meeting). The second envelope must then be placed in the large A4 envelope and delivered to the Chief Executive Officer of the LGFA.
- 6. The completed ballot paper must be delivered to the LGFA by 5:00pm on Friday 11 October 2024.

Link 1 – Candidate profiles
. —

ATTACHMENTS

Nil

- END OF REPORT -